INTERVIEWS WITH AUTHORS

INTERVIEW WITH PAOLO GAMBI

Hello and welcome (back) to Blissful Life Project blog!

Today I would like to share with you an interview I did with Italian author Paolo Gambi. He has written over 20 books and sold over 100.000 copies! He writes about spirituality, psychology, personal development and religion.

 

Which authors do you look up to?

I dare say that our literary era is a time of „remix“. For the first time in history we find ourselves under a continuous storm of informations, that our brain cannot process consciously. When we think we have found the most original idea for a story or for a book, we have probably just bumped onto a story we have read or heard and kept into the deepest of our unconscious. So it is often difficult to say which author inspires us if we don’t explore our unconscious. But if you want an easier answer, I would certainly say Giovannino Guareschi. An Italian author who sold some 20 million copies, was candidated to the Nobel prize, and invented the extraordinary world of Don Camillo and Peppone.

 

When did you write your first book and how old were you?

I was probably 5 or 6 years old. I remember I wrote a spin off of a Joe Denver’s Lonely Wolf when I was 11. But the first book I published goes to 2001, in my journalistic period. Nothing literary, just a collection of artistic pictures commented. A sort of a „ante litteram“ Instagram. I just did the captions.

 

What genre are your books? Have you considered writing in another genre?

I don’t believe much in „genres“. I think each author should find his way to express, and that becomes his own genre. My problem is that my genre is a bit too eclectic for market logics. I have published about 20 non-fictional books. Most are about personal development, religion, psychology, spirituality. One, co-authored with a popular Italian singer, is about ’70 music. Another one is about Freemasonry. Another one is an historical book. In the last few years I have been conquered by fiction. Psychological thriller, and now also romance… What genre am I writing?

 

What draws you to this genre?

If you mean fiction, I think it is a better way to express the same contents I wrote in non-fiction. When I wrote non-fictional books I felt like an artisan. Now, writing fictional books, I dare say I feel more like an artist. Now, for example, I prefer to show love dinamics writing a romance rather than writing a self-help book. Or I prefer to show personal development dynamics through my psychological thriller than through another self-help book. But please if I write another self-help book forgive me.

 

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

When I learned to write my first word on the sand when I was 5 years old.

 

What made you decide to sit down and actually start something?

I have started writing so early in my life that to answer this question I probably need a session of regressive hypnosis.

 

Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

From life. I think a writer must live, try, taste many different lives to find inspiration for his books. That is why it is so easy to go crazy.

 

What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book?

Translating it into English. I have fun writing. I have pain translating. And as you probably noticed English is not my mother tongue, so pain is doubled.

 

Do you ever get writer’s Block?

I wish! I have the opposite problem. While I am writing a book I usually find 100 ideas to write 100 more books, and I don’t know how to manage all these ideas…

 

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

I think 23. My favourite is the one I have not written yet.

 

Where is your favorite place to write?

On a island, under the shadow of some threes, watching the sea. Or in the Alps, dominated by the mountains.

 

What do you love most about the writing process?

The feeling I have when I chase an idea you feel in your mind. Let me say it is something like chasing the woman you fell in love with.

 

What is the biggest surprise that you experienced after becoming a writer?

Some people who wrote to me: „you changed my life“. It is still so surprizing…

 

Where can we find you online?

On my website, www.paologambi.com on Instagram, paologambi, on Facebook. Even on tinder. Actually, if I owe you money you know how to reach me.

 

Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

A lot of things. But I’ll spare you.

 

________________________________________________________________________________________

Follow me on Instagram: @blissfullifeproject

Take a look at my bookish Etsy shop BLP Design

Join my Nocturnal Book Club:

Instagram: @nocturnalbookclub

Facebook: @nocturnalbookclub

Facebook group: Nocturnal Book Club Group

Until next time,

N.

 

Leave a Reply

