BOOKISH HAULS · BOOKISH STUFF · OTHER

BELLE & CO. (BOOKISH) CANDLES | PART TWO

Hello and welcome back to Blissful Life Project blog!

In June I published first part of an interview I did with Lindsey who is owner of Belle & Co. Candles. You can read the first part here.

I can not start with questions and answers without mentioning this again, all her candles are inspired by fictional women, are hand poured and made from soy. She also makes body sprays and perfumes which are also inspired by the women from fiction books. Another cool thing you should know is that portion of all her profits is donated to women’s education (Shesthefirst.org) which is really nice and generous of her.

What is your background?  When did you start making candles?

“I have a lifetime background of creative projects of all sorts.  I began candlemaking as a fun hobby and gift giving idea several years ago.  I would mostly create candles so that I knew they were devoid of the nasty chemicals and unhealthy waxes that most big stores sell.  Soon enough, I had plenty of friends and family asking for custom scents and I found out that candles make the perfect gift for any occasion.  When the idea of starting my own creative business started to take hold in my mind around this time last summer, candlemaking was the clear first choice of products to offer. “

How do you decide which characters to feature? Why do you focus on all female characters?

“I create products inspired by the women in fiction who have inspired and touched me, for whatever reason that may be (there are plenty of different reasons that a certain character may touch my life). So, typically, after reading a really spectacular book, I will naturally be inspired to create a product for someone and the scents will just make sense to me.  Usually scents come right from the text or from the world that has been created in the text.  My focus on female characters is because women are awesome 🙂  I wanted to do something a little bit different and I want to tie in my women-focused product line to other women-focused projects.” 


Who is your biggest supporter when it comes to running your own business?

“My biggest supporter for my business (and my life in general) has been, and always will be, my mother.  My mother is the ideal best mom that anyone could ever hope for.  She is constantly supportive, insists on always having a stack of business cards to hand out wherever she goes, and she sets a goal to email the link to my shop to at least 2 people every single day.  My mom is forever asking me if there’s anything else she can do to help me out and loves to help me with candle making work (even showing up at events to do some in person sales work and charm the customers!).  My mom is easily my biggest supporter, role model, and best friend.”

What are the biggest challenges that you’ve encountered so far?

“I’ve encountered many challenges, as I believe most person do when attempting to start their own business from scratch.  Time has big a been issue: balancing a new business (making product along with learning a ton of new skills like bookkeeping, photography, social media, website building, graphic design and much more), going to my fulltime job, keeping up with housework, finding time to hang out with my husband, family, and friends and carving out some alone time has been more than a little stressful, but absolutely worth it.”


Do you have any advice to anyone starting their own business?

“RESEARCH!  Do as much research as you can: how much of each business aspect are you expecting to do yourself, and how much are you going to contract to someone else?  What do you want your business to look like, what atmosphere are you going to create?  How will you connect with customers (this is a huge one)?  All of these should plus about a million other questions should be planned and considered. However, you can never plan for everything so just be ready to make changes and don’t be too hard on yourself.”

What advice would you give to your younger self?

“Do it now.  Don’t wait.  Don’t force yourself to stick with things (or people) that make you ridiculously unhappy.  Work very hard, but only for what you want.  Breathe and have fun.  Remember that time is limited, and make the most of it.”

What motivates you to get up in the morning?

“The prospect of creating something amazing every single day.  As soon as my eyes open in the morning, I am immediately flooded by gratitude that I get to live such an awesome life surrounding by loving friends and family and that I can just be myself (I know that a lot of people on this earth don’t have it nearly as good).  Sometimes things can be stressful and confusing, but I’m so thankful for this life and I’m always happy for the chance to experience all that it has to offer. “

Where can you be found for purchases, questions, suggestions, or requests?

 

There is five more questions and five more amazing, inspiring answers, but I will share those in my third blog post. Make sure to follow my blog so you don’t miss it!

I also highly recommend you to check out Lindsey’s Instagram account and her Etsy shop, I am sure you will find something for yourself there. When you are buying on Etsy you must always remember that when you are buying from a small business, you are making someones dreams come true!

 

Follow me on Instagram: @blissfullifeproject

Join my Nocturnal Book Club:

Instagram: @nocturnalbookclub

Facebook: @nocturnalbookclub

Facebook group: Nocturnal Book Club Group

 

Until next time,

N.

 

One thought on “BELLE & CO. (BOOKISH) CANDLES | PART TWO

Leave a Reply

