INTERVIEWS WITH AUTHORS

INTERVIEW WITH: ALLY CAPRARO

Hello my dear readers!

Today I would like to share with you interview I did with astonishing Ally Capraro. She is the author of incredible Guardians of the Worlds book series.

First book in this book series is The Descendant, you can read my review on this book here. The second one is The Enchantress and will launch on 27th September. You can find my review here.

WHICH WRITERS INSPIRE YOU?

Fiction: S.L. Morgan, Suzanne Collins, George Martin;

Non-fiction: Esther & Jerry Hicks, Napoleon Hill, Jeff Walker;

Children’s: Julia Donaldson.

 

WHEN DID YOU FIRST REALIZE YOU WANTED TO BE A WRITER?

Back at school my teachers praised my writing. I was also in charge of the school newslpaper and I loved it. I think that’s when I realized I was a writer/business-person or what is now known as authorpreneur.

 

WHAT BOOK THAT YOU HAVE READ HAS MOST INFLUENCED YOUR LIFE? 

Definitely Napoleon Hill’s Think and Grow Rich. I picked it up pretty much by chance at a book store. The title really drew me in. I must have been 12 or so. That’s when I started believing that I can achieve whatever I desire if only I can believe it.

 

WHAT GENRE ARE YOUR BOOKS?

Children’s, non-fiction, fantasy (pen name Ally Capraro).

 

WHAT GIVES YOU INSPIRATION FOR YOUR BOOKS? 

I get this strong desire to create a book and I have a very powerful inner drive. I simply must write and publish it. It’s a very rewarding experience.

 

HOW DID YOU COME UP WITH THE IDEA FOR GUARDIANS OF THE WORLDS BOOK SERIES?

I was fascinated by other fantasy novels, especially S. L. Morgan’s Ancient Guardians. After successfully publishing a children’s book series and non-fiction I wanted to try to write a novel. This was a challenging but very rewarding endeavor.

 


WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE PART OF THE BOOK?

I think it’s when Ava crosses the portal to the Lapo dimension. I love the mindset of the beings who live there (it is actually my life philosophy). I also love the setting. I spend a lot of time in that type of setting so it was very easy to write.

 

WHY DID YOU DECIDE TO PUBLISH THIS BOOK SERIES WITH A DIFFERENT NAME AND NOT YOUR OWN? 

For marketing purposes. Since I had already built a name for myself as a children’s author and as an author coach, I wanted to prove that I can successfully launch a book under an unknown name.

Both authors following me and I were very happy when I succeeded.

 

WHEN YOU DEVELOP CHARACTERS DO YOU ALREADY KNOW WHO THEY ARE BEFORE YOU BEGIN WRITING OR DO YOU LET THEM DEVELOP AS YOU GO? 

I am a big fan of outlining, so I know a lot about the characters before I start doing the heavy lifting but I do leave myself some space for flexibility and let my characters and plot flow.

 

DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL TIME TO WRITE OR HOW IS YOUR DAY STRUCTURED? 

Haha, yes! My special time is whenver someone takes care of the kids. When I write I set myself a strict daily wordcount I need to reach and that’s my priority. I more or less know how much time it takes me to write my daily 1,500 words or so and I do that first.

I’m very disciplined and systematic so that definitely helps achieve goals.

 

WHAT IS THE EASIEST THING ABOUT WRITING? 

This actually is a very difficult question. I think the easiest part is when you are in the flow and can write freely without being disturbed. I get my word count down wether I feel inspired or not but it’s a sheer delight to write when inspired and in the flow.

 

WHEN DID YOU WRITE YOUR FIRST BOOK AND HOW OLD WERE YOU? 

I wrote and published my first book in 2010. I knew nothing about the publishing industry back then but for some reason the book was a huge success which motivated me to write subsequent books.

 

HOW MANY BOOKS HAVE YOU WRITTEN? ARE ALL OF THEM PUBLISHED? 

I’ve written around 20. I guess around half or fewer have been published. I have a lot of picture book manuscripts gathering dust in the drawers, I also have a book which started out as a diary but I feel it’s too personal to publish. Then I have all those books in the conception phase.

WHICH ONE IS YOUR FAVOURITE? 

My favorite kids’ book is Maya and Filippo Show Aloha – it’s about two kids traveling the world on a cruise ship learning about the Hawaiian culture. It’s got a map and a quiz at the end – children love it!

My favorite book for authors is How I Sold 80,000 Books – it’s packed with so much info about marketing a book that it’s hard for me to write a sequel that would match the value of this one but I have a few ideas.

And my favorite fantasy is The Descendant  ­- it’s my first novel and has a special place in my heart.

All three of them are now free on Amazon.

 

OF ALL THE CHARACTERS YOU HAVE CREATED, WHICH ONE IS YOUR FAVOURITE AND WHY? 

Of course I love Maya and Filippo who resemble myself and my brother when we were little.

And in The Descendant I’m a huge fan of Meldrick who is quite similar to my husband.

And I do like the bad guy Lord Slith as well – I think he’s pretty evil and pretty cool too.

 

DO YOU HEAR MUCH FROM YOUR FANS? WHAT HAS BEEN THE BEST COMPLIMENT? 

Yes, I get email from readers every day. People write such nice things, that they love my work, that I’m an inspiration for them, that I made their day, that my book turned a boring day or train ride into a thrilling adventure. It’s so uplifting to receive these messages. And I always respond.

 

WHEN CAN WE EXPECT THE SECOND BOOK IN THE GUARDIANS OF THE WORLDS BOOK SERIES TO BE RELEASED? 

End of Septermber, so coming soon!

 

WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO ASPIRING WRITERS? 

Don’t compare your beginning with someone else’s middle or well-honed ending.

Do something for your author career every day.

Check out authorremake.com – I created it especially for busy authors who want to know what works.

 

WHERE CAN WE FIND YOU AND YOUR BOOKS ONLINE? 
My website is: alinkarutkowska.com. Come on over!


I would like to thank Alinka from the bottom of my heart for amazing opportunity to be a part of her team, for chance to read books before their launch date and for answering all my questions!

Thank you for taking time to read this, hope you enjoyed!

Wish you all a magnificent Friday 💐

With love, N.

You are a masterpiece 🌼

2 thoughts on “INTERVIEW WITH: ALLY CAPRARO

Leave a Reply

