SPIRITUAL JOURNEY

MEDITATION & SPIRITUAL JOURNEY 

I first got in touch with meditation around 3 years ago while I was in school and scrolling through 9gag. There was a post about benefits if you practice meditation regularly. I saw it helps with anxiety and depression so I decided to try it as soon as I got home. At that time I was very depressed, few months before this I lost my uncle in car crash, my godfather has died due to illness and my best friends mom Martina has passed away that summer because of cancer. She was like the second mother to me. However, I felt like shit, it felt like my life could not get any worse. And what is the only way you can go when you are at the bottom? The only way is UP. And it did, with the help of practicing meditation daily.

So what is even meditation. Meditation is practice to train your mind. To meditate means do stay still in one position, letting go of all your worries, not thinking about a single thing and just concentrating on your breathing. Meditation is not about what happened yesterdey, what someone said to you three months ago and it is neither about all the things you have planned for tomorrow. It is just the opposite, it is about clearing your mind, easing health concerns and focusing on you just being. It is being awake without being aware of anything. And I promise it is the best feeling in the world!

Here are some ‘fun’ history facts about evolution of meditation:

  • The exact year when people discovered meditation is still unknown, archaeologists and scholars have agreed that it (probably) first occured around 5000 years ago.
  • The documents from 1500BC are the earlies found that indicate existance of meditation.
  • Around 500BC meditation developed in China (Tao) and in India (Buddhism).
  • In 653CE the first meditation hall opened in Japan.
  • In 1922 was published Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse. This is the story of the Buddha’s spiritual journey.
  • In 1927 was published the famous Tibetan Book of the Dead.
  • Around 1960 Transcendental Meditation and Yoga began to spread to America and Europe.

There is a lot of different positions in which you can practice meditaton (sitting in a comfortable chair, lying in bed, sitting on the flor with your legs crossed).

There is also a lot of different kinds of meditation:

  1. MANTRA MEDITATION: you practice it sitting with eyes closed. The only difference is that you are in your mind repeating mantra the whole time. There is a lot of different kinds of mantras and you can find them online. The best one is the one your teacher gives you. My very very good friend who has been practicing meditation and yoga for more than 15 years gave me this one: OM SO HAM (this is me, and I am this). In my head I say OM, when I breath in I say SO and when I breathe out I say HAM. And I do this all the time while meditating.
  2. GUIDED MEDITATION: I found this very useful when I began with meditation. It is very hard at the begining to just sit there and think about nothing. Sometimes it is still hard for me even after few years of practising. So I heartwarmingly recommend you to do it the way I did. I lay down in bed, put on headphones and I search on YouTube for a guided meditation. There is again a lot of different types it depends on why you need it. There are meditations to help you fall asleep, to help you relax, to help you lucid dream, to help you do astral projection etc.
  3. TRANSCENDENTAL MEDITATION: this one is very interesting and I plan on writing an article only about this one. It is also practsed using mantra, it has to be done everyday for 15 to 20 minuts. This one is widely practiced form of meditation. There are even sientific researches on how it affects your brain.

If you practice meditation too let me know in the comments or if you want to try it. I am thinking of writing more about meditation, how I do it, what are the benefits, maybe I will even post some of my favourite guided meditations from YouTube. Let me know if you enjoyed this post and would like to know more. Thank you for taking time to read this!

INVITATION TO A SPIRITUAL JOURNEY

Few months ago my sister bought me this book (Discover the buddha, 53 Meditations to Meet the Buddha Within – she order it from HERE) as a birthday present 🎁 It consists of a booklet and 53 cards.

Each card carries a photo of Buddha statue and a quote. Quote is also called sutra or dhamma which means the ultimate truth. In this booklet you can find explanation for all 53 cards.

You should take one card every week and read it every day (seven days for one card) so the words can really get into your mind. It is ever better if you do it few times a day. The best time to do it (if you only have time to do it once a day) is in the evening before you go to sleep.

I have started doing this as soon as I received this present but at the time I had a lot of things going on in school and in time I simply forgot about it. Now you are probably wondering why I am doing this again. At the time when I did this regularly, this cards really helped me understand myself better, they even helped me understand the world better and I was on my way to reach a peace inside my mind and heart. I would also like to do this with you so I can help you and so that we can go on a spiritual journey together. And of course because I know that if I decide to post this on my blog I will not forget about it (again)😁

Every Sunday (starting next week) I will post a photo of a new card and write my opinion. It would mean the world to me if you wrote your own opinion of a card in the comments, so we can discuss it.

I have also decided to use photo as my screensaver so I can read it as much as possible (and not forget about it – again 😂).

It would mean a lot to me if you let me know in the comments what you think of this idea (this is my first Blissful Life Project – literally 😁) and if you are willing to go on a spiritual journey with me 😊🌹

Wish you all a magnificent Saturday 💖

With love, N.

You are a masterpiece 🌼

9 thoughts on “MEDITATION & SPIRITUAL JOURNEY 

Leave a Reply

